top of page

10 Taylor Swift songs that are important to me

by Alyssa R.


Music has become very popular among teenagers recently. Many students at Airport use music for many different things like coping, to help the focus when studying or doing homework, and just as something to confide in. Most people have a favorite artist or someone who means alot to them and for me it's Taylor Swift so here are 15 Taylor Swift songs that really mean alot to me. 


  1. “This is Me Trying” 

Ever since this song came out in 2020 it has been one of my favorites. This song is about how Taylor is trying but it doesn't seem like enough and how she feels like she is losing her spark. I like to think of myself as a happy person but it's not always sunshine and rainbows but no matter how I'm feeling this song never fails to hit hard. 


  1. “You Belong with Me”

This song is a love song Taylor wrote in 2008. This song has been my favorite ever since i was a little girl, this song is what started it all with me and taylor swift. When I was a little girl thi song was on repeat all the time, it was the only song I would listen to most of the time. This song has alot of sentimental value to me. 


  1. “New Romantics”

This is a song Taylor Swift wrote in 2014. It is about young love and just enjoying your youth and having fun and being care free. It's also about how people try to knock her down but she doesnt let it bother her. I love to sing new romantics because it's just so carefree and it's such a good song and way to live your life, and it never fails to put me in a good mood 


  1. “Lover” 

This is a song she wrote in 2019. This is about her new love. It’s about all the great things about love. It’s also about how nothing anyone else thinks or says matters just her and her love. I really like this song because it’s how I want to think about my relationships and how I want to go on about my life. This song is about love which is one of the greatest things in life and I really like this song. 


  1. “Paper Rings” 

This is another song she wrote in 2019. This song is also about her new love. But this song is called paper rings because In the song she says “ I like shiny things but I’d marry you with paper rings.” This is about how even though she likes nice and shiny things they don’t matter compared to her love and she would be fine with a paper ring. I like this song because I find myself getting so caught up in material things and this song helps me to remember what really matters. 


  1. “Bejeweled” 

Taylor wrote this song in 2022. This song is about how Taylor didn’t do enough and she’s always been so kind and how she’s still “bejeweled” and “makes the whole place shimmer”. I really like this song because it’s a very upbeat song and always puts me in a good mood when I’m needing it because it’s about still shining when you walk into a room.  


  1. “Mirrorball”

This is a song Taylor wrote in 2020. This song is about how Taylor is like a mirror ball, shattered into a million pieces but still shining. This is one of Taylor’s most relatable songs and I really enjoy listening to this song. I think this is one of her best songs because so many people relate to it and feel the same way. 


  1. “Love Story”

This song was written in 2008. This is another song that has sentimental value to me. This song is basically about Romeo and Juliet and how her parents wouldn't let her be with the guy she wanted but they would sneak off to be together anyway.  This is another one of those songs I would listen to on repeat when I was a little girl and I dreamt of having my own love story. 


  1. “You're on your own kid” 

This song was written in 2022. It is about how you might think there's other people but in reality you're just on your own. This is one of her sadder songs but it's so beautifully written. I really enjoy listening to it no matter what mood I'm in. It's just a great song. 


  1.  “Right where you left me” 

This is a song Taylor wrote in 2019. This song is about how she's stuck in that one moment and everyone else has moved on and left but she's still right they're stuck in that one moment. I really enjoy this song because it's so easy to get caught up in the moment and get stuck there, when that moment becomes the past and everyone moves on you're still stuck there and not getting to enjoy the present. 


In addition to my own song suggestions, looking to other students’ favorites is never a bad thing, so let’s see what others have to say.


Lauren C, a junior at Airport says, “My favorite taylor swift song at the moment is you’re losing me because it shows taylor’s raw and true feelings towards the ending of her and her ex boyfriends relationship. I like it also because some people can relate to it and that’s a good feeling because you feel like you're not the only one feeling like that.” 


“I think back to december is my favorite taylor swift song because the reason taylor wrote it is significant and it’s just a great song that i can just play on repeat 24/7,” said Jayda J, another junior at AHS.


Taylor Swift is definitely my favorite artist. If you want to listen to her music, all of her music is on Apple music, Spotify, or other streaming platforms. 


bottom of page