top of page

10 albums that have influenced me

by Savannah C.


Over the past two years specifically, music has become an obvious part of my life. Specifically, for high schoolers, it is important to find a vibe that matches your identity. The biggest trait I have taught myself is how to find my individuality through music. Just like many other Airport High School students, music holds a lot of importance in order to get us through our long, eventful, and stressful days, whether it be at school or in our homes. 


According to an article entitled, Listening to Music and Watching Music Videos - AACAP, music provides a way for students to express themselves, whether it be their feelings, and their emotions. Music, to me, is an outlet of safety in identifying the things I am going through. Below is a list of specific songs, brief descriptions of them, and why/how they have helped or influenced me. 


  1. Anniversary - Bryson Tiller 

When I think about music, I think back to a certain time in my life. All music holds a memory. Bryson Tiller is extremely popular in the R&B/Soul music category, and a fan favorite among many Airport High School students. This album in particular holds a special place in my heart, as it got me through some heartbreaking, frustrated, and intense emotional standpoints in my life, and even helps me to this day. I think this album is influential for others who are big Bryson Tiller fans. The album holds some emotional aspects that refer to relationships, and I find that the way music is written helps me handle my own personal mindset, when I feel my struggles are getting too difficult.


  1. Over It - Summer Walker

Just like many of my other favorite female writers, Summer Walker just adds the right amount of confidence and girl power to her music. This has to be one of my favorite albums of all time, definitely valid enough to make my top ten list. The album talks through anger, love, frustrations in just a matter of 18 songs. Many students can relate to these lyrics and songs, whatever emotion i am feeling or have felt; I would play this album in a heartbeat.


  1. It's Only Me - Lil Baby 

Switching up from what I tend to listen to the most R&B, some good Rap albums do hold an important place in my heart. As an athlete, it's important for me to find some type of distraction, whether it be before or after a game, to get me in the right headspace. This album has kept me motivated and given me an adrenaline rush and kept me in an attitude in order to stay hyped up and motivated. I really enjoy how each of these songs was written. Originally, I found just a few songs I enjoyed off of the album; after listening to the whole album I ended up enjoying the album all together and still listen to it, especially when driving around.


  1. Sail Out - Jhene Aiko 

While this collection of songs is considered an EP, it still gives me so much of a nostalgic vibe. The raw emotions just draw listeners in. I know for high school students it is important to find something that is going to calm you down and keep you in a positive mindset. Each of these songs has pulled out such raw emotions and feelings from deep inside my heart and helped me cope with so many experiences.


  1. Take Care - Drake 

This R&B / Hip-Hop album was released in 2011 yet is still considered a hit. This album has a lot of emotions held deep inside each song's lyrics. I find it such an interesting connection that when Drake wrote and released this album he was going through a divorce. This makes the album have an even better emotional touch to it, considering the fact that all of his memories come from a major place in his heart. The album shows how it feels to be a wreck, anger, spitefulness, as well as regret in some ways. The album really shows that memories stick with you forever, and I think that is the most important lesson we have to learn.


  1. SOS - SZA

I find that female R&B artists have some of the most amazing voices, SZA as one of them. When this album was released, it was one of the most popular albums of the year. This album is long yet glorifying. Each song contains a different message that personally speaks to me, as well as the mindset I was in the time it was released. SZA explains many different feelings and behaviors that are very relatable and unmatched, like the ones explained by other artists.  SZA has a very intimate tone and has a good way of explaining things others may have felt dealing with relationships, emotions, and self-love. This album has a more classical R&B tone to it, and it really makes you feel emotions through songs.


  1. Partynextdoor Two - Partynextdoor

As much as I love the artist Partynextdoor and had a hard time picking his most influential album, this one has to be my top pick; knowing every song on the album. Partynextdoor has a way of showing his feelings of jealousy, possessiveness, and love through music. While these traits may not be the best, everyone gets them. This is why I feel like this album’s vibe is so raw and relatable to me. I know that these emotions are being elevated and shown more realistically, it is more obvious that others will stream and listen to the words that are sung, instead of just hearing the song. Partynextdoor has done lots of work with one of my other favorite artists, Drake.


  1. Channel Orange - Frank Ocean

This album created by Frank Ocean has a more alternative vibe to it, even though it is R&B. I think that Frank Ocean had a way of influencing me because he describes what our youth has to go through, and the things we have experienced growing up. Being a teenager isn’t the easiest, but knowing there is a popular artist can show a relatable reflection on the emotions that I have even felt. Overall, the album really is a rollercoaster of emotions, even the instrumentals have such an emotional pull to it. 


  1. Trapsoul - Bryson Tiller

Bryson Tiller has to be one of my top male music artists. This album, as well as his others and other songs, have had such an impact on me. This album in particular has had an extraordinary influence on my taste in music since I first found him. The album has a feeling that you have to not just understand the music and the meaning, but to feel it. Some songs on the album have a feeling of love and longing for someone important to you, and I think this is one of the main reasons why it has affected me so much. This album was released several years ago, but it is still extremely popular and has such memorable lyrics which can make me never forget about it. 


  1.  Confessions - Usher

I think this album has an excellent influential impact on how I see vulnerability, the way the music is written. The album really explains true partnership. The album shows a good balance of classic and modern vibe. The album really pulls everyone in and makes others want to listen to it. The album came out several years ago, but is still pretty high up on the surface of music to this day. 


In agreement with me about the greatness of these albums are several students at AHS.  When asked her opinion about each of these albums, senior at Airport High School, Jaylin C., stated, “These are all good albums, all albums that help me get in my feelings and take me back to a period in my life that I like to remember.” When asked her opinion on a specific album, Take Care by Drake, Jaylin said, “Best album of all time. Absolute classic and timeless songs.” 


When asked how she felt about listening to these albums, junior at Airport High School, Brooke J., stated, “I enjoy these albums, because I can vibe with it and relate to what each album talks about in the songs.” It is obvious that even students throughout our school enjoy these albums. 


While all the albums fall under the same category of sound, feeling, and vibe, each one has really helped and brought me to have a better appreciation of music and learned several new artists throughout the years. It is important to find music that has a way of impacting your mindset and how you feel. I would most definitely suggest listening to these albums in full. Whether it be just one favorite song, or enjoying the whole album, there is definitely something influential about each of these artists. 


For those who may be interested in getting other good tips for what to listen to, another listicle I found interesting about R&B music was written by Oprah Daily. The article goes into greater detail about individual songs in the R&B category, but also holds some pretty interesting and influential songs as well. You can read the listicle on Oprah’s website:  https://www.oprahdaily.com/entertainment/g33896452/best-rnb-songs/


bottom of page