top of page

Shots! Shots! Shots! ...and Pills!

Get your mind out the gutter, kids; this post is about all the vaccines and medicine and bugsprays one must take in order to survive in Africa. And there's a lot. Of all 20+ countries that I've been, including one in Africa, none have required anything special medical-wise, and so the fact that so much stuff was required for Senegal came as somewhat of a surprise. I knew there would be some vaccines required, like maybe one or two, but five shots and two pill prescriptions was way more than I thought.

First there's the obligatory yellow fever vaccine, which one is required to show customs proof of having or else they will deny your entry. You get a yellow booklet that lists all the vaccines you have, and you have to have the yellow fever one.

Then, there's the "recommended" vaccines. To play it extra safe, I chose to get vaccinated for hepatitis A, meningococcus, typhoid, tetanus, and diphtheria. These vaccines were given in four shots, two on each arm, all on the same day! The anxiety was real that day, for sure!

Next, are the pills. You are highly encouraged to protect yourself against malaria, for which several pill options exist. I chose the one with the lowest half-life (meaning it stays in your system less time) and the lesser side effects. The malaria meds I didn't choose were those that give the taker nightmares. NO THANKS. Instead, I opted for the med whose side effects were slight sensitivity to the sun.

The doctor also gave me a prescription for antibiotics just in case I get sick.

Lastly, after reading on the CDC's website that there is slight risk of Zika in Senegal, I decided to stock up insect repellants. So far, I have purchased DEET sprays, DEET wipes, eucalyptus spray, eucalyptus bracelets, permethrin treatment for clothes, a mosquito net, and garlic pills, but I may have gone overboard.

We'll see how it all works....


bottom of page